With great impatience and with a raised finger pointing in the direction of Northern Africa or other young democracies, we disparagingly criticize that they don’t instantly become stable democracies in the first year after their respective revolution.

We also objurgate politics and institutions when democratic consensus takes a little longer and doesn’t bring back the desired results in the first round of negotiations. All of this occurs in a state of ignorance over the equality of interests and over the fact that their reconciliation will always take time. Still, we choose to be judgmental about the opinions of others too often. So, do we righteously judge young democracies?

From today’s view point and according to general perception, it looks as if France mutated from monarchy to democracy right after the French Revolution. What happened instead were civil wars, democratic experiments, setbacks, massacres, and chaos (cf. Primacy of Politics, S. Berman). Only as late as the Fifth Republic under de Gaulle (!) after 1959 may France be qualified as a stable democracy. Over 160 years passed before France could arrive at a state of stable democratic institutions. Lets now have a look at the United States of America, which were supposedly founded as a democracy. Let’s turn back a page in history. Who was allowed to vote in the early days of the U.S.? Answer: white land owners. Okay, maybe not yet a democracy. Further down the timeline we see a civil war, the end of slavery and an amendment to the constitution. Now everyone can vote except those who failed the literacy tests. Seeing that this made up a considerable share of the people, we conclude that this isn’t exactly a democracy yet. It eventually took more than 190 years to arrive at an equal free right to vote for all citizens in the U.S.

How long do countries take until all their citizens get used to the democratic rights, duties and institutions that are necessary for a functioning democracy?  The entire population of countries needs to learn what is e.g. corruption or nepotism and what is acceptable in a democracy. How long do we take to be able to lead a discussion in a civilized manner and to respect the opinion of others as perfectly equal to ours?  Even developed democracies still wrestle with this phenomenon – but we have the guts to look down on Egypt and say: “What’s the matter with you guys? That was nothing. You failed.“

Departing from the necessity to further develop institutions and mechanisms of democracy to suit a networked society, a long way lies before us as western democracies to respectfully develop this collaboratively. Ideally, we choose to travel via the valley of self-reflection and ascend to the heights of mutual respect on this journey that will preferably not be undertaken on a high horse.

Text: Isabella Mader

Bastille

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Mit großer Ungeduld und erhobenem Zeigefinger sehen wir nach Nordafrika oder auf andere junge Demokratien. Geradezu abschätzig tadeln wir, dass sie nicht sofort im ersten Anlauf und im ersten Jahr nach einer Revolution zu einer stabilen Demokratie werden.
Und wir tadeln Politik und Institutionen, wenn demokratische Einigungsprozesse etwas länger dauern und nicht gleich in der ersten Verhandlungsrunde jenes Ergebnis bringen, das vor allem wir selbst uns vorstellen – all das in großer Ignoranz über die Gleichwertigkeit der Interessen anderer und darüber, dass ein Ausgleich derselben immer Zeit brauchen wird. Wertend richten wir über die Interessen anderer … noch heute. Und wir wollen junge Demokratien tadeln?
Aus heutiger Sicht sieht es in der allgemeinen Wahrnehmung so aus, als wäre beispielsweise Frankreich unmittelbar nach der Revolution von der Monarchie zur Demokratie mutiert. Was der französischen Revolution tatsächlich folgte waren weitere Bürgerkriege, demokratische Versuche, Rückschritte, Massaker, Chaos (vgl. Primacy of Politics, S. Berman). Erst ab der fünften Republik unter de Gaulle (!) ab 1959 gilt Frankreich als stabile Demokratie. Über 160 Jahre mussten also vergehen, um zu funktionierenden und stabilen demokratischen Institutionen zu kommen. Sehen wir auf die USA, die ja vermeintlich bereits als Demokratie gegründet wurden. Blättern wir hier in der Geschichte also zurück und fragen uns, wer denn zu Beginn in den USA wählen durfte. Wir stellen fest: die weißen Grundbesitzer. Also vielleicht doch keine Demokratie. Es folgten ein Bürgerkrieg und die Abschaffung der Sklaverei, und ein Amendement zur Verfassung mit Wahlrecht für alle außer jene, die die so genannten Literacy Tests nicht bestanden (kurz: Analphabeten). Dann sehen wir uns an, um welche Bevölkerungsgruppen es sich hierbei handelte, und stellen fest: immer noch keine Demokratie. Erst mehr als 190 Jahre nach der Gründung gab es in den USA das freie, gleiche und uneingeschränkte Wahlrecht für alle. 160 bzw. 190 Jahre!
Wie lange brauchen Länder mitsamt all ihren Einwohnern, um sich an demokratische Rechte, Pflichten und Institutionen zu gewöhnen, die für eine funktionierende Demokratie nötig sind? Ganze Völker müssen lernen, was z.B. Korruption oder Vetternwirtschaft sind und warum das in einer Demokratie inakzeptabel ist. Wie lange brauchen wir, um zivilisiert diskutieren zu können und die Meinung anderer als perfekt gleichwertig zu respektieren? Selbst entwickelte Demokratien raufen noch immer mit diesem Phänomen – und wir blicken abfällig nach Ägypten und sagen: „Was ist mit Euch? Das war jetzt aber nichts, oder? Ihr seid gescheitert.“
Wenn wir also heute davon ausgehen, Institutionen und Mechanismen der Demokratie so weiterzuentwickeln, dass sie einer sich gerade etablierenden Netzwerkgesellschaft gerecht werden, dann haben westliche Demokratien noch einen weiten Weg vor sich, dies respektvoll gemeinsam zu erarbeiten. Im Idealfall führt diese Reise über das Tal der Selbstreflexion weiter auf die Anhöhe des gegenseitigen Respekts und wird vorzugsweise nicht auf dem hohen Ross unternommen.

Text: Isabella Mader

Bastille

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *